In the history of the IPL, here is a list of Super Overs.

Over the years, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has brought delight and excitement to its supporters and Super Overs. When the match is down to the final ball, the excitement skyrockets. The spectators have loved the games the best when both sides have the same total and the game is decided by a Super Over. This is why, in the case of close matches, neutral fans wish for a tie in the final over.

In this article, we’ll go over all of the tie matches that have occurred in the IPL’s history and were decided by a Super Over. The match between KKR and RR in the 2009 season finished in a tie, resulting in the IPL’s first-ever Super Over. Both teams have scored 150 runs in their innings in their corresponding 20 overs.

KKR scored 15 runs in the Super Over, with Chris Gayle striking three fours. Yusuf Pathan’s important 16 runs in only four balls against Ajantha Mendis enabled the Rajasthan team to win the game. Punjab and CSK competed in a Super League match. After both clubs scored 136 runs the next season. Punjab won the Super Over against Muttiah Muralitharan, hitting the necessary 10 runs in four balls.

Read More: All-Time Cricket’s Top Five Best Finishers

In the 2011 and 2012 seasons, there were no ties; however, in 2013, the results of two matches were settled in Super Overs. RCB scored 152/7 in a 153-run chase against Delhi in the season’s 21st match. For RCB, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers came out to bat, needing 12 runs in six balls. Only three runs were scored in the first four balls, but AB de Villiers hit two consecutive sixes in the final two balls to help his team win.

In the same season, in a tied match, RCB faced SRH in another Super Over. This time, though, they lost because they were unable to chase down the requisite 20 runs in six balls. In the 2014 IPL, RR defeated KKR in the super over thanks to Steve Smith’s outstanding batting. In IPL 2017, Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians played a Super Over after a two-year hiatus.

Mumbai won the game in the Super Over owing to Jasprit Bumrah’s outstanding bowling. In the 2019 IPL, DC defeated KKR in the Super Over, with Kagiso Rabada showing off his bowling talents at the end. In the same season, MI won a tie match in the Super over SRH.

The IPL 2020 season included four Super Overs matches, making it the most exciting season in terms of close games. The game between Mumbai Indians and Punjab was actually settled in just two overs, with Punjab winning.

The day before, KKR had won the Super Over over SRH in the afternoon game. The opening match of the season was between the RCB and the MI squad, and the former triumphed because of AB de Villiers’ skill. The Delhi squad defeated Punjab in the next super over of the season.

Read More: New Tata Altroz DCT is set to launch on March 21.

In IPL 2021, SRH and DC had a thrilling match that ended in a draw. In the super over, the Delhi team was successful in chasing down the required score of 8 runs.

1 Comment

Add a Comment

Leave a Reply