How many ICC championships did India win?

The ICC championships and International Cricket Council’s (ICC) competitions in which the Indian cricket team competes are always interesting to watch for news, and this is especially true now that India will be Later this year, it will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

There are only four nations that have won the World Cup, the T20 World Cup, and the Champions Trophy. Team India, now captained by Virat Kohli, has five ICC championships to their record.

Except for India, the winners of all the main ICC competitions have been Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies (each with three trophies), and Pakistan (each with five). However, the Indian cricket team is the first to have won every ICC trophy.

Here are the ICC awards that India has received:

1983 ICC Cricket World Cup

When a squad led by Kapil Dev defeated Clive Lloyd’s West Indies to win the 1983 World Cup, they beat the odds (66 to 1) and established India as a cricketing powerhouse. It was India’s maiden ICC trophy triumph.

Up until that point, the Indian cricket team wasn’t given much weight in the world of sports. But everything changed when an underdog victory over the two-time defending champion West Indies altered the course of Indian cricket.

Here are the ICC awards that India has received:

The 14-person team known as Kapil’s Devils, which traveled to England for the championship match, fought Clive Lloyd’s men three times throughout the competition, winning the first and losing the second. But their third clash was the most important one because it was quite unlikely that a new champion would be crowned at the famous Lord’s.

But with the help of Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath, India silenced the 24,609 spectators at the Lord’s Cricket Ground in the championship game and wrote the first cricket match to inspire the country, winning by a score of 43 runs.

Here are the ICC awards that India has received:

2002 ICC Champions Trophy

The 2002 Champions Trophy is the first and only one awarded by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in which hosts Sri Lanka and India were jointly crowned champions. India hadn’t won an ICC trophy in almost two decades.

The pre-tournament favorites, Sri Lanka, advanced to the championship game after to easy victories in group play and a decisive seven-wicket victory over Ricky Ponting’s Australia. On the other hand, India, who fielded a young team, defeated South Africa by a score of 10 runs to advance to the championship game.

Here are the ICC awards that India has received:

However, the rain disruption that caused the finals to be washed out twice was something that Sri Lanka and India failed to anticipate. The Asian cricket goliaths ultimately divided the winnings.

Read More:  Top five goalkeeper scorers in world football

2007 ICC T20 World Cup

India’s performances in the first ICC T20 World Cup were clearly a cause for concern given the young age of the tournament and the presence of a new skipper.

In 2007, MS Dhoni, who was 26 at the time, was appointed team captain when Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, and Sachin Tendulkar declared themselves ineligible for the championship match of T20I cricket. Thus, the cricketer from Ranchi had to pull off a miracle with a team that was entirely inexperienced.

The legendary Indian cricketer, who is now retired, is admired for his keen cricketing mind and gutsy demeanor when making decisive decisions as a captain. While there have been days when India may not have won the game because of his decisions, there have also been times when they have made history.

One such instance was the choice to bowl Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq by Joginder Sharma in the 2007 championship game’s final over. Sharma persuaded Misbah to scoop a misfired shot that fell into S Sreesanth’s hands and sealed India’s first T20 World Cup after giving up seven runs off the first two deliveries.

2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

India’s 28-year wait for the ICC World Cup came to an end in 2011 when Indian captain MS Dhoni hit a historic six against Sri Lanka in the championship match. With 362 runs and 15 wickets, Yuvraj Singh led the successful campaign that was a fitting send-off for players like Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar.

India only dropped one game in the competition, a group-stage match against South Africa. Although this justified their position as the favorites to win the championship, they required convincing victories over Australia (in the quarterfinals) and Pakistan (in the semifinal) to fully establish their place as title contenders.

Given a total of 275 to pursue, the Men in Blue were dealt early blows with the dismissals of Tendulkar and Sehwag but recovered thanks to a 109-run partnership between Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni. Gambhir’s failure to reach a century in the championship match was regrettable, but he will always be remembered for helping to build India’s illustrious run chase.

Dhoni and Yuvraj put on an unbroken 54-run partnership for the fifth wicket to seal the historic victory with 10 balls remaining.

India became the first host nation to win the ODI Cricket World Cup with this triumph.


2013 ICC Champions Trophy

The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was a turning point for Indian cricket, which was just starting to bounce back from the problems with betting and spot-fixing in the Indian T20 League. The media barrage didn’t deter MS Dhoni and company as they recorded dominating victories over opponents like Pakistan (in the group stage) and Sri Lanka (in the semifinal) to secure a meeting with the hosts England.

India discovered a top-order duo in Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan that was similar to Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag, but they struggled in the championship game in Birmingham. Ravindra Jadeja, who scored a game-defining 33 runs and took two wickets in this match, emerged as a hero.

Ravi Bopara put on an all-around performance, but England still fell short by five runs, giving India the Champions Trophy for the second time. India became the first side to win all ICC trophies as a result of the victory, and MS Dhoni became the first skipper to command his nation to those victories.

With this victory, India became the first nation to win all three ICC trophies in cricket history, and MS Dhoni became the first skipper in history to do so.