World T20 Women’s Cup ICC tournament All the best Catches

The seventh ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was held in 2020. From February 21 to March 8, 2020, it was held in Australia. On International Women’s Day, the final was held at Melbourne Cricket Ground. Hosts (n.d.) Australia won the competition for the fifth time, defeating India by 85 runs.

The men’s tournament was originally scheduled to take place eight months ahead of schedule but was postponed to 2021 because of the COVID-19 epidemic. Australia, the defending champions, was defeated by India in their first match of the tournament. The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the deployment of technology to monitor front-foot no-balls for all matches of the Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time.  The third umpire aided the bowler’s end umpire in calling the front-foot no-balls and relayed this information to the on-field umpires. 

Read More: Hockey World Cup: Sanjay, Hundal scored hat-tricks to help India beat Canada 13-1

World T20 Women’s Cup Semi-Finals

After three wins in their first three matches, India was the first team to qualify for the semi-finals. India finished first in Group A after winning their last group game against Sri Lanka. After winning their first three group games, South Africa was the second team to advance for the semi-finals. After defeating the West Indies in their last group game, England became the third side to proceed to the semi-finals. Host Australia defeated New Zealand by four runs in the final match of Group A to earn the fourth and final position in the semi-finals. Due to weather, the last match in Group B between South Africa and the West Indies was called off; ensuring South Africa won the group. As a result, England was pitted against India in the first semi-final, while Australia was pitted against South Africa in the second. 

Because the first semi-final was called off due to weather, India proceeded to the final after placing first in Group A. India has made it to the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time. In a rain-affected encounter, Australia defeated South Africa by five runs in the second semi-final.

Read More: Tesla Model 3 India review, exclusive first look

Competences and teams

Ten teams competed in the competition. The top eight teams from the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 qualifying tournament were automatically qualified. The 2019 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier determined the final two qualification berths, with Bangladesh and Thailand progressing. It was Thailand’s first time qualifying for a Women’s T20 World Cup competition. Bangladesh was put in Group A following the qualification round, whereas Thailand was placed in Group B ‘inputs from ICC’.

Leave a Reply