Who scored the most runs during the IPL 2010 ?

In the third year of the competition, IPL 2014, most runs were just as spectacular as they are now, if not more so. Many of the ODI cricket heroes were still at the top of their game when the meta for the T20 format was still being developed.

These luminaries topped the scoring rankings that year while pure T20 players were still in the early stages of their rise to fame. Here are the top 10 IPL 2010 scorers, without further ado.

1. Sachin Tendulkar (MI)

The God of Cricket, a born and raised Mumbai native, proved at the ripe old age of 37 that class is unchangeable. He demonstrated his prowess in the format by scoring an astounding 618 runs at 47.53 in 15 games. He had a high strike rate of 132.61 and 5 fifties, with an 89* being the highest score.

Tendulkar was elected to the Rajya Sabha, the upper chamber of the Indian parliament, becoming the first active cricket player to do so. His term ended in 2018. He was the first athlete to earn the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honor, in 2014. 2019 saw Tendulkar’s enshrinement in the International Cricket Council Hall of Fame.

Read More: Best Catches So Far! ICC biggest story of Cricket World Cup 2019

2. Jacques Kallis (RCB)

Kallis, a genuine legend in every format of the game, wasn’t one to back out of T20s. Despite having a low strike rate of 115.78, he scored a significant 572 runs from 16 games that year. Kallis had six half-centuries with an average of 47.66 and a top score that was exactly the same as Tendulkar’s before him.

3. Suresh Raina (CSK)

Though Raina was still a long way from being Mr. IPL, he was starting to establish himself as a valuable player. He finished 2010 with 520 runs at a 47.27 average, hitting a high of 83* in 16 games. Moreover, he had a strike rate of 142.85 and four fifty-sixes.

4. Sourav Ganguly (KKR)

KKR’s leader with 493 runs in 2010 was the current BCCI president, who was still in his playing days. In 14 games, Ganguly averaged 37.92, scoring 117.66 with four 50+ scores, including a high of 88. He also had four 50+ averages.

Sourav Chandidas Ganguly, whose name was originally spelled Gangopadhyay, was born on July 8, 1972. He is an Indian cricket administrator, commentator, and former captain who served as the 35th President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In Bengali, Dada, which means “older brother,” is the name by which people refer to him. In Indian cricket, he is referred to as the Maharaja. In addition, to becoming one of the best batsmen in the world throughout his playing career, Ganguly also became one of the team’s most effective captains.

5. Murali Vijay (CSK)

Vijay was once considered to be a great promise for Indian cricket, but he is now considered to be a has-been. The CSK player, however, had a different year in 2010, collecting 458 runs from 15 matches at an impressive strike rate of 156.84 and an average of 35.23. Vijay also scored a hundred and two fifty, with the highest total of 127.

6. Mahela Jayawardene  (KXIP)

In August 1997, he made his Test debut. The following year, in January 1998, he made his One Day International (ODI) debut. In the first test of Sri Lanka’s home series against South Africa in 2006, Jayawardene and teammate Kumar Sangakkara scored 624 runs for the third wicket, setting a record for the highest partnership in First-class cricket.  Over the course of a career that lasted nearly 18 years, he represented Sri Lanka in 652 international games. In the course of his international career, he also grew close to Sangakkara and developed a friendly rivalry with him.

In 2010, the Sri Lankan hero outperformed himself, winning 439 games with an average of 43.90. He also claimed a strike rate of 147.31, a century and a half, as well as a top score of 110*, in his total.

7. Andrew Symonds (DC)

Despite the Chargers’ abject failure to defend their championship that year, the Australian was in his element, scoring 429 runs at a 30.64 average in 16 matches. His knocks oddly featured four fifties, yet he only had a top score of 54. His strike rate was a mediocre 125.80.

8. Saurabh Tiwary (MI)

In the third IPL season, Tiwary scored 419 runs from 15 innings at an average of 29.92, another player who might have been an important part of India’s team had he not fallen short of several targets. With three fifties and a best score of 61, he was striking out at a commendable 135.59 mph.

9. Rohit Sharma (DC)

The current Indian skipper and five-time IPL champion was a relative unknown in 2010. He is the second Chargers hitter on this list. His 404 runs from 16 games, at an average of 28.85 runs per game and a strike rate of 133.77, were a portent of things to come. Sharma also recorded three fifty-sevens and a top score of 73.

Read More: Introducing the Maruti Suzuki Alto K10: Top features

10. Nitin Ojha (RR)

Nitin Ojha, the third player on this list who came close, almost made the cut with 377 runs in 2010, including a top score of 94*. During the course of the season, he hit 132.28 and averaged 31.41. Together with that top score, Ojha also achieved 50+ scores once more.

Leave a Reply