Most Hat Tricks by the Top 5 Bowlers

The top 5 bowlers in international cricket history in terms of hat tricks will be discussed in this article. The undisputed leader of the group is Pakistan’s left-arm fast bowler Wasim Akram, who comes in second with four, followed by Sri Lanka’s right-arm fast bowler Lasith Malinga, who has five hat tricks. The only bowler to have twice taken four wickets in as many deliveries is Malinga.

The following players have each collected two international hat tricks: Thisara Perera of Sri Lanka, right-arm medium-fast bowler Hugh Trumble of Australia, left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav of India, English right-arm medium pacer Broad, Pakistani off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq, Chaminda Vaas of Sri Lanka, left-arm fast bowler Trent Boult of New Zealand, and English right-arm medium pacer Broad. Hugh Trumble, Stuart Broad, and Jimmy Mathews each recorded a hat trick during a Test match. Each of Brett Lee and Thisara Perera has amassed a T20I and an ODI hat trick.

Kuldeep Yadav, Chaminda Vaas, and Saqlain Mushtaq have all scored two hat tricks in one-day internationals. Jimmy Matthews obtained both of his hat tricks in May 1912, whereas Hugh Trumble did it in 1902 and 1904. Stuart Broad recorded hat tricks in July 2011 and June 2014. In November 1996 and June 1999, Saqlain Mushtaq was given his. Chaminda Vaas’ two hat tricks were accomplished in December 2001 and February 2003, as opposed to Brett Lee’s feats, which were accomplished in March 2003 and September 2007, respectively.

Kuldeep Yadav, Thisara Perera, and Trent Boult are the three youngest players on this list who are still playing for the sake of this article.

Read More: India vs Australia, Match 14 — 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

1. Malinga, Lasith (5 Hat tricks)

Malinga has a three-ODI and two T20I records.

On March 28, 2007, in Providence, Rhode Island, during the ICC World Cup, Malinga took his first ODI hat trick against South Africa, taking the wickets of Shaun Pollock, Andrew successive deliveries from Makhaya Ntini, Jacques Kallis, and Hall. However, Malinga was unable to stop South Africa from completing the 210-run target with one wicket remaining.

Tanmay Mishra, Peter Ongondo, and Shem Ngoche were among the victims of his second ODI hat trick, which he recorded against Kenya on March 1, 2011, in Colombo as part of the ICC World Cup. This victory allowed Sri Lanka to chase down a target of 143 with 9 wickets remaining. On August 22, 2011, in Colombo, Sri Lanka defeated Australia with 6 wickets remaining thanks to Lasith’s third ODI hat trick, which included the dismissals of Johnson, Hastings, and Doherty. This resulted from Sri Lanka’s ability to keep Australia to 211/6.

With his maiden T20I hat trick on April 6, 2017, Malinga defeated Bangladesh in Colombo by dismissing Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, and Mehdi Hasan. However, he was unable to stop Sri Lanka from losing by 45 runs after being bowled out for 131. His second T20I hat trick against New Zealand in Pallikele on September 6, 2019, saw him dismiss Munro, Rutherford, Grandhomme, and Taylor to assist the Sri Lanka bowl. In response to the Kiwis’ 126, they outscored them by 88.

2. Wasim Akram (4 Hat tricks)

Two of Akram’s four hat tricks came in ODIs and two came in Tests.

On March 6, 1999, in a drew match against Sri Lanka in Lahore as part of the Asian Test Championship, Akram recorded his first Test hat trick by getting rid of Kaluwitharana, Bandaratilleke, and Wickramasinghe in a row. 8 days later, against Sri Lanka in Dhaka, in the same competition, Akram’s second Test hat trick—the dismissals of Gunawardene, Vaas, and Jayawardene—helped bowl them out for 188 and set up Pakistan’s innings victory.

On October 14, 1989, in a Champions Trophy group encounter in Sharjah, Akram took his maiden ODI hat trick, which included the dismissals of Dujon, Marshall, and Ambrose. This helped bowl out the West Indies for 239 while they were attempting to reach a target of 251. In his second one-day international hat trick, Akram bowled out Merv Hughes, Rackemann, and Alderman on May 4, 1990, in the Austral-Asia Cup final in Sharjah. After needing to score 267 runs, Australia was dismissed for 230 runs.

3. Yadav Kuldeep (2 Hat tricks)

Kuldeep Yadav completed his maiden hat trick on September 21, 2017, in Kolkata, India, as part of Australia’s visit to that country. First-inning batter India scored 252 runs. As Australia batted, Yadav bowled out the visitors for 202, giving India a 50-run victory by getting rid of Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, and Pat Cummins in quick succession. On December 18, 2009, in Vishakhapatnam, the second ODI in a series during the West Indies tour of India, he recorded his second hat trick. In the game, India batted first and scored 387/5. Shai Hope, Jason Holder, and Alzarri Joseph were all struck out in quick succession by Yadav during the West Indies’ batting innings, helping to finish off the visitors for 280.

Read More: What is Pradhan Mantri Mudra Yojana?

4. Thisara Perera  (2 Hat tricks)

The wickets of Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, and Sarfraz Ahmed that Thisara Perera took in an ODI against Pakistan in Colombo on June 16, 2012, helped bowl out Pakistan for 199 in a run chase of 244. On February 12, 2016, in a T20I match against India in Ranchi, Perera recorded his second hat trick by taking the wickets of Hardik Pandya, Suresh Raina, and Yuvraj Singh, but it was too late.

5. Trent Boult (2 Hat tricks)

In the first one-day international of a series during New Zealand’s tour of the United Arab Emirates in Abu Dhabi on November 7, 2018, left-arm fast-medium bowler Trent Boult of New Zealand completed his first hat trick. The first team to bat in that match was New Zealand, which scored 266/9. Boult helped Pakistan bowled out for 219 runs during their batting innings, giving New Zealanders a 47-run victory. He took the wickets of Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, and Mohammed Hafeez in consecutive deliveries. In an ICC World Cup group match on June 29, 2019, Boult scored his second hat trick against Australia at Lord’s. Australia took the opening pitch in that match. Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, and Usman Khawaja were fired by Boult.

Leave a Reply